Why I started The Refuge!

Why I started The Refuge!

Ever since I announced, over a year ago, that I was going to start a new church called, “The Refuge” I have been asked, “Why?”

The short answer is simple.  I believe the Lord has called me to do so.

The longer answer is also simple, just a little more detailed.

First, let me say that I love the Church. And what do I mean by “The Church?” I mean the Bride of Christ, The Body of Jesus, The family of God, The Hands and Feet of our Lord.

In Matthew 16 Jesus said, “I will build my church.” The Church is composed of all those who have given their lives and hearts (both past and present) to serve, learn, and follow Jesus as His own personal disciples.  I believe in the “Big C,” the universal church, but I also believe in the “small c” …the local church. Ever since I became a follower of Jesus Christ, I have loved the body of Christ. The older men became my fathers, the older women became my mothers, and everyone else became my brothers, sisters, sons and daughters.  They are my family. As imperfect as the church is, my love for God’s people grows more and more every day.  Just like my personal family is far from perfect, (please don’t tell them I said this) so is my church family. But hey…Family is Family.  And family sticks together through the good and bad. Plus, The Church is God’s instrument that He has chosen to spread the news of his glorious gospel to the world. And if God is for His church…I am on board too.

Why choose the name, “Refuge”?  I find the word nearly 50 times in the Bible, and the image of The Refuge is found from cover to cover. I see Jesus as my Rock, My fortress, My protector, and My Refuge. The name has always seemed right to me when thinking of a name for the new church.

So, getting back to my more detailed answer to why start a new church.

  1. Our population is going up and church attendance is going down…especially here in America. I won’t share all the statistics, though I could. Record number of churches are closing their doors for the final time every year and our country is getting more secular by the moment. We are simply going in the wrong direction.
  2. I believe church planting is one of two ways we can reverse this direction…if it is possible at all. (The other way is Church Revitalization) The American church is becoming the church in Europe.
  3. I wanted to create a church for people like me. Yea me. I have battled with depression and anxiety and other things ever since childhood. I saw things and experienced things kids aren’t supposed to see and experience. Unfortunately, I am far from being the only one with these experiences.  There are boat loads of people with similar stories and often times worse stories, including many who are reading this very blog.

My depression got so bad a couple of years ago that it cost me my ministry. As a result, I was faced with a difficult choice at a difficult crossroad. Not to bore you, but I will cut quick to the chase. I came to the discovery and conclusion that God wanted me to start this new church… for people like me…the broken, the hurting, the struggling. You might say, but Scott, isn’t that all of us?  Bingo…and I’m not talking about the dog.  Yes, that is all of us.

But instead of slowly getting back in an established church with all of her traditions, not all bad, I concluded that it would be the best stewardship of the time I have left…I’m 57, to start something new with a new score card, a new way to determine whether we are doing what is right and best, not according to man’s standards, but God’s standards. Again, I could go into much more detail, and I am willing to for anyone who wants to listen, but bottom line, I made the decision to be a part of starting this new church.

So, who is the Refuge?  We are a community of hurting people bringing hope to hurting people through Jesus.  What is our purpose? To bring hope to hurting people through Jesus.

I plan on writing one to two new blogs every week. One will have something to do with the sermon I just preached and the other about things that I think are pertinent about life.

Many will be short, and others might ramble on.  We will see.

Feel free to subscribe to this blog. Feel free to comment, whether you agree or disagree. As long as it is not vulgar or divisive, I will approve all posts…at least that is my goal right now. 😊 Or you can always contact me at my email.  It is Scott@TheRefugeOwasso.com

I am a Pastor who still struggles with things that try to take me down the rabbit hole. But the blessed Holy Spirit who resides in me will not let me quit.  I look forward to the day that Jesus returns and takes away my struggles and gives me a new body.  But until then, you will find me in the trenches, helping my fellow strugglers stand back up to fight another day.  And in the meantime, discover God’s peace that passes all understanding. Jesus is my peace and He is my Refuge!

Until the whole world hears,

Scott Carlson

About Scott A. Carlson

I am 56 years old and have been married to Sarah Ashworth Carlson for 33 years. I have 3 adult children, one son-in-law, four grandsons and one granddaughter. View all posts by Scott A. Carlson

Leave a comment